National Sailing Hall of Fame announces 2014 inductees

Annapolis, Md.  – The National Sailing Hall of Fame (NSHOF) has announced the eight people who will make up its 2014 class of inductees into the National Sailing Hall of Fame.

The inductees are, yachtsman, historian and senior statesman of the sport Henry H. “Harry” Anderson, Jr. (Newport, Rhode Island/Mystic, Connecticut); mathematician and navigator Nathaniel Bowditch (Salem, Massachusetts); boat builder and U.S. Olympic Sailing Team boatwright Carl Eichenlaub (San Diego, California); brothers Olaf Harken and Peter Harken (both Pewaukee, Wisconsin), respectively, boat builder and sailing hardware designer; naval architect and prolific writer L. Francis Herreshoff (Bristol, Rhode Island/Marblehead, Massachusetts); 1960 5.5 Metre Olympic Gold Medalist and boat builder George O’Day (Brookline, Massachusetts/Dover, Massachusetts); and Grand Prix yachtsman John B. “Jim” Kilroy (Marina del Rey, California), the recipient of the NSHOF’s first Lifetime Achievement Award.

Inductees are American citizens, 45 years of age or older, who have made significant impact on the growth and development of the sport in the U.S. in the categories of Sailing, Technical/Design and Contributor (coach, administrator, sailing media). Nominations of non-citizens were also considered if they influenced the sport in the U.S., and posthumous nominations were also accepted. The undertaking to recognize Americans who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of sailing is central to the mission of the NSHOF which was formed in 2005 and has completed phase one of its plan to establish a permanent facility on the historic waterfront of Annapolis, Maryland.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will induct an American citizen, 55 years of age or older, who has had consistent involvement in sailing for a majority of his or her life and had success in the sport while also becoming successful and achieving noteworthy stature in a non-sailing career.

The 2014 class of inductees will be formally celebrated on Sunday, Sept. 28. The invitation-only Induction Ceremony will be held at the Detroit Yacht Club and is sponsored by Rolex Watch U.S.A. and Condé Nast.

For more on the Inductees, visit:

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *