All Girl Sail Jam brings Snipe regatta to San Diego

Mission Bay Yacht Club hosts the sailing event on June 15.

SAN DIEGO—Female racers of the Snipe class will be on the water, June 15, to compete in the All Girl Sail Jam, which is hosted by Mission Bay Yacht Club in San Diego. The regatta was re-scheduled for June 15 so it would not conflict with the Senior Sabot Nationals.

Last year’s All Girls Sail Jam regatta featured four classes: C420; Sabot A-C1, Senior; Sabot C2-C3; and, Snipe.

Competing in last year’s C420 class were Jean Wanlass and Gretchen Hohenstein of Balboa Yacht Club, Poper Holthus (San Diego Yacht Club), Lila Chitayat (San Diego YC), Samantha Gardner (San Diego YC), Sara Parker (San Diego YC), Lina Carper (Mission Bay YC), Sarah Ozaki (Mission Bay YC) and Brook Wood/Caylin Schnoor (San Diego YC & Newport Harbor Yacht Club team).

The Sabot A-C1, Senior class featured Marleigh Henehan of Mission Bay YC won (A fleet), last year, Mackenzie Harris (A fleet, San Diego YC), Kate Joslin (C1 fleet, San Diego YC), Kate Bossler (C1 fleet, Mission Bay YC), Ruth Jones (Senior, Mission Bay YC), Allie Shand (C1 fleet, Mission Bay YC), Oakley Cunningham (B fleet, Mission Bay YC), Karina Nieting (C1 fleet, San Diego YC, banana boat), Anne Hinton (Senior, Mission Bay YC) and Diana Bentley (Senior, Mission Bay YC).

Isabella Loiselle (C3, Coronado Yacht Club), Emily Otto (C2, San Diego YC), Paige Tillson (C2, Mission Bay YC), Katherine Fleming (C3, San Diego YC), Maggie Fleming (C2, San Diego YC), Kaylee Nieting (C2, San Diego YC), Madilyn Anderson (C3, CYC), Carlin Fretwell (Mission Bay YC) and McKenzie Nuemann (C3, Mission Bay YC) were last year’s Sabot C2-C3 competitors.

Filling out last year’s Snipe class were Aine McLean Fretwell & Cragan Smith (Mission Bay YC), Molly Pleskus & Grace McCarthy (San Diego YC and Mission Bay YC), Giselle Nyenhuis & Erica Nyenhuis (San Diego YC), Stacey Szabo (San Diego YC), Beka Schiff & Alexa Cavalieri (California Yacht Club), Aimee Heim & Lorelei Heim (San Diego YC), Barb Tillson (Mission Bay YC), and Jackie Hollander & Lauren Wright (Mission Bay YC).

Contact Don Bedford at for more information about this regatta. Mission Bay YC is located at 1215 El Carmel Place in San Diego; the club’s phone number is 858-488-0501.

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *