“Around Catalina” race highlights SoCal racing for Memorial Day Weekend

Cabrillo Beach and Dana Point yacht clubs will again co-host regatta, which cuts across Catalina Channel.

CATALINA ISLAND–The 39th annual Cabrillo Beach to Dana Point “Around Catalina” Race is on deck, this Memorial Day Weekend; the annual regatta, which first launched in 1981, kicks offs at Los Angeles Harbor, continues to Catalina Island and comes to an end at Dana Point Harbor. Racing begins on May 25 and continues through May 26.

The “Around Catalina” Race, where sailors literally go around Catalina Island as they head from San Pedro to Dana Point, is co-sponsored by Cabrillo Beach and Dana Point yacht clubs. Both organization joined forces to create the race nearly 40 years ago. It was originally called the Historic Mariners Race but later changed to Around Catalina Race, as to no longer give off the impression it was a regatta of old, classic boats.

Teams must submit an online entry and $125 fee ($150 for late entries) in order to compete.

The race will be divided into PHRF and Cruising classes; one-design boats will compete as PHRF.

An awards party will be held at Dana Point Yacht Club on May 26.

The following perpetual trophies will be awarded:

  • Around Catalina First to Finish
  • Around Catalina First Overall
  • Around Catalina – First Catalina
  • Around Catalina – First J-Boat
  • Cruising Class First to Finish
  • Cruising Class First Overall.

Viggo Torbensen, who helmed Timeshaver, was one of the big winners at last year’s Around Catalina Race; Torbensen and Timeshaver was first to finish, first overall and first J Boat.

Anna Scharer’s Trofina 2 was the first Catalina boat winner.

Doug Hosforf was last year’s big winner in the regatta’s Cruising class; his Chaos Theory was first to finish and first overall winner. Tom Adamson’s Maxwell was the first Catalina boat winner in the cruising class.

Taxi Dancer set the record for elapsed time, completing the Around Catalina Race in 7 hours, 26 minutes and 53 seconds; the record was set in 2006.

Dockage is available upon request. Contact Dean Wyer at dean@cbyc.org or 310-519-1694, or Sarita Simmons at port@dpyc.org or 949-496-2900, for more information.

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *