Del Rey YC hosts Midwinter Regatta

MARINA DEL REY — Several racers and spectators joined in Del Rey Yacht Club’s Midwinter Regatta for the Stephen M. Pitt Memorial Trophy, Feb. 5-6 in Marina del Rey. The racing heavy weekend offered something for young and novice sailors alike.

The one-design race is designed for kids from 5 to 15 years old. More than 70 kids participated in the race sailed in Optis.

While the conditions were light and variable the kids we treated to a show by the local grey whale migration that did not disappoint, according to Regatta Chairman David Ross.

“The weather was beautiful and the show put on by the pod of whales both Saturday and Sunday did not disappoint,” Ross said.

The top five racers for each race category are as follows:

Opti Green (eight races scored, 33 boats): 1st: Boxing Kangaroo, Lucca Farrell, CYC, 39; 2nd: Matthew Commons, CYC, 54; 3rd: Minion, Lucas Knight, CYC, 66; 4th: Harry Bryan, CYC, 69; 5th: Blow Hard, Matt Magasinn, DRYC, 70.

Opti Champ (four races scored, 44 boats): 1st: Ryan Satterberg, SBYC, 13; 2nd: Jake Mayol, BCYC, 13; 3rd: The Lyndon, Taft Buckley, 20; 4th: GoCart, Carter Cox, VYC, 27; 5th: Kieran Shocklee, CYC, 32.

Full results available at

LAYC// Dave Cort photos. Captions:  One shows Damon Guizot’s RP77, Zephyrus, and Bob Lane’s Andrews 63, Medicine Man, approaching the starting line, and one shows Zephyrus passing the lighthouse as she leaves Angels Gate. photo of Lisa Meiers accepting the trophy on behalf of Bob Lane

Medicine Man sweeps LAYC Mid-Winter Catalina Island Race

LOS ANGELES — Racers were met with a foggy start as a thick marine layer stuck around for the first half of Los Angeles Yacht Club’s Mid-Winter Catalina Island Race earlier this month.

The wind filled nicely for the start and built to 12 knots by the West End of Catalina Island. Unfortunately, the wind did not hold up and died down at the back side of the island, and patches of light wind could be found throughout the course.

The lead changed several times in both PHRF A and PHRF B divisions, according to Los Angeles YC Commodore Carol Armitage.

The battle between Zephyrus and Medicine Man was not decided until the Los Angeles Harbor entrance.

“As we neared Angels Gate, the wind completely shut off, and Medicine Man caught up again,” as reported by Zephyrus navigator John Jourdane. “From the L.A. entrance to the finish line we had zero knots of wind, but luckily the tide was coming in, and carried us across the line, just a short time ahead of Medicine Man.”

Medicine Man won PHRF A and PHRF Overall on corrected time, also winning the coveted Mayor Norris Poulson Trophy.

Complete results are as follows: Division A (three boats): 1st: Medicine Man, Robert Lane, LBYC, 11:37:57; 2nd: Zephyrus, Damon Guizot, LAYC, 12:07:32; 3rd: Flaquita, Paul Casanova, SBYRC, 18:39:58.

Division B (four boats): 1st: Mille Onde II, Stephen Ashley, SYC, 23:29:18; 2nd: Transformer, Joel Young, LAYC, 23:45:30; 3rd: Super Chicken, Michael Georgia, NYC-LB, 28:40:29; 4th: Bully, Barrington Darcy, SBYRC, DNF.

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *