San Diego YC wins 103rd Lipton Cup

Sailing team skippered by Tyler Sinks erased three-point deficit to dethrone Newport Harbor YC.

SAN DIEGO — San Diego Yacht Club completed a come-from-behind victory on the final day of racing to win the 103rd Lipton Cup, held Oct. 27-29 in America’s Finest City.

It was San Diego YC’s fourth Lipton Cup win since 2011.

The 12-boat yacht club race in San Diego Bay featured some of the best sailing teams in the country, including last year’s Sir Thomas Lipton Cup trophy holder Newport Harbor Yacht Club, St. Francis Yacht Club, Chicago Yacht Club, Larchmont Yacht Club and New York Yacht Club.

Tyler Sinks skippered San Diego YC’s team to a 4-4-7 score (54 total) on the final day of racing, helping his crew edge out Joe Pinkney and Newport Harbor YC – scoring a 6-6-10 in rounds 10-12 (58) – for the Lipton Cup.

San Francisco Yacht Club, skippered by Chris Perkins, finished third with 59 points.

The rest of the field finished as follows: Larchmont YC/Danny Pletsch (72); Chicago YC/Will Holz (73); New York YC/Philip Lotz (77); Coronado Yacht Club/Patrick Powell (83); California Yacht Club/Bob Little (86); Long Beach Yacht Club/Shane Young (88); Balboa Yacht Club/Alex Steele (93); Southwestern Yacht Club/Eric Kownacki (96); St. Francis YC/Nicole Breault (97).

Sailing teams competed in a round robin style format with equalized J/105s.

Recent winners of the Lipton Cup were Newport Harbor YC (2016), San Diego YC (2015, 2013, 2011), St. Francis YC (2012) and California YC (2011).


Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *