Shane Young and LBYC retain historic trophy with win

LONG BEACH — The best-three-out-of-five match race shootout in the 2016 San Francisco Perpetual Challenge Cup was won by Long Beach Yacht Club’s Shane Young June 11 against San Francisco Yacht Club’s Shawn Bennett. With the win, Long Beach YC once again has the privilege of holding on to the 121 year-old San Francisco Perpetual Challenge Trophy, which is the second oldest perpetual trophy in North America.

Long Beach YC won the trophy in the Bay Area in 2014, and for the last three years has continued to proudly display it in their clubhouse in a prominent place of pride.

Raced on the Long Beach Sailing Foundation’s Catalina 37s, the forecasted solid wind faltered after the first two races, and the race committee briefly postponed racing before continuing with a southerly 6-8 knots of breeze.

Young is a rising star in West Coast match racing finishing in second place for this year’s three-venue California Dreamin’ Series.

“It all starts with who is on your team,” Young said. “All I did was turn the wheel.”

Young’s teammates were, Dustin Durant, Mile Lowe, Ben Wheatley, Ian Paice and John Busch.

Created in 1895, the beautiful sterling silver San Francisco Perpetual Challenge Trophy is fought for on the water every year between San Francisco Bay Area and West Coast clubs outside of the area, alternating in even-numbered and odd-numbered years.

The San Francisco Yacht Club and The Corinthian Yacht Club jointly maintain a deed of trust which, among other areas relating to the trophy, sets forth the terms of regattas to be raced. It states that professional sailors are not allowed and all crew members must have been a member in good standing of their yacht club for at least six months.

Final Results: 1st: Shane Young, Long Beach YC, 3-1; 2nd: Shawn Bennett, San Francisco YC, 1 – 3.

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *