Yachting Cup: Never underestimate a rival

SAN DIEGO — Another Yachting Cup wrapped up on May 2 and, as always, this year’s regatta was full of character.

The winds on May 1 were slower to accelerate, starting at around 5 knots at 220. Luckily, they picked up to about 10 knots with gusts at 12 by the start of the second races. The wind was consistently shifting right all day, so many San Diego sailors were thankful to be back in their everyday conditions.

The J/105, J/70 and Division A classes faced very tough competition, with the top racers only a few points apart throughout the whole weekend. Resolute, a J/125 owned by Tim Fuller, took first place in Division A despite being down two crewmembers on Sunday.

After Sunday’s races, competitors gathered on the Sail Wash Lawn for the award ceremony where Commodore Doug Werner and Regatta Chair Julie Servais presented awards to class top finishers and the overall winner, Rival, a J/35 in Division C skippered by David Boatner. Rival finished Sunday with three bullets to overcome Dennis Conner’s (Menace XVII) excellent performance on Saturday and earned their spot on the Yachting Cup Overall Winner perpetual trophy.

J/105 Class: 1st: Sanity, Rick Goebel; 2nd: Wings, Dennis Case; 3rd: Juiced, Hulburt/Driscoll. Class D: 1st: Avet, Curt Johnson; 2nd: Gray Goose, Jeremy Quinton/Scott Clapp; 3rd: Poco Loco, Michael and Kathy Roach. Flying Tiger Class: 1st: Justice, John Harrop; 2nd: Mile High Klub, Philip Infelise; 3rd: Abacus, Tim Chin. J/70 Class: 1st: 32, Bruce Cooper/Shawn Bennett; 2nd: Minor Threat, Jeff Janov; 3rd: Sugoi, Chris Raab.

B Class: 1st: Mexican Divorce, Neil Fraser; 2nd: Kite, David Nelson; 3rd: Flyingfiche, Robert Zellmar. B36.7 Class: 1st: Kea, Chick Pyle; 2nd: Kraken, Thomas Shepherd; 3rd: Melokia, Mike Whittemore. B40.7 Class: 1st: Lugano, Mark Stratton; 2nd: Victoire, Robert Atkins; 3rd: Excalibur, David Tarson. C Class: 1st: Rival, David Boatner; 2nd: Menace XVII, Dennis Conner; 3rd: Gator, Todd Wheatley.

Farr 40 Class: 1st: Blade 2, Michael Shlens; 2nd: Foil, Gordon Leon; 3rd: Skian Dhu, Martin Meerhoff. J/120 Class: 1st: Caper, John Laun; 2nd: CC Rider, Chuck Nichols; 3rd: JIM, John Snook.

Division A: 1st: Resolute, Tim Fuller; 2nd: Rock & Roll, Bernie Girod; 3rd: Anarchy, Scot Tempesta. Division AA: 1st: Elixir, Chady Downey; 2nd: Fox, Victor Wild; 3rd: Staghound, Alec Oberschmidt.

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *