Yachtsman/Yachtswoman of the Year Nominations Sought

Byline: The Log Staff

Yachtsman/Yachtswoman of the Year Nominations Sought

US Sailing has begun accepting nominations for its 2012 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards.

Through Nov. 30, every member of US Sailing may nominate one male and one female sailor they believe has turned in the most outstanding on-the-water performance during the 2012 calendar year.

Established in 1961 by US Sailing and sponsored by Rolex Watch since 1980, the annual presentation of the Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards recognize the individual male and female U.S. sailor who has demonstrated on-the-water excellence at international and/or national events to earn their place in the history books.

Anna Tunnicliffe and Bill Hardesty won the distinction in 2011. They joined a list of legendary winners that includes Ed Adams, Betsy Alison, Sally Barkow, Dennis Conner, JJ Fetter, Allison Jolly, John Kostecki, Buddy Melges, Ken Read, Cory Sertl, Lynne Shore, Jody Swanson and Ted Turner.

At the conclusion of the nomination period (Oct. 1-Nov. 30), a short list of nominees will be presented to a panel of accomplished sailing journalists, who will discuss the merits of each and vote by secret ballot to determine the individual award winners.

The winners will be honored in February 2013, during a luncheon at St. Francis Yacht Club in San Francisco, when they will be presented with engraved Rolex timepieces.

Nominations can be made online at

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *