Wild Thing Wins 2013 BCYC Ocean Racing Series

Byline: The Log Staff

Wild Thing Wins 2013 BCYC Ocean Racing Series

NEWPORT BEACH — Bahia Corinthian Yacht Club’s Ocean Racing Series for 2013 ended with Wild Thing, Rhonda Tolar’s Farr 40, winning first place overall. TNT, Wes Selby’s Trip 47, captured second overall and Pussycat, John Szalay’s Peterson 34, took third place overall.

Bahia Corinthian YC’s Ocean Racing Series offered a unique challenge to racers, because of the variety of races and distances sailed each day, organizers explained. The series included four random leg races (including a two-day race to Avalon and back) and four days of windward/leeward racing, spread across the first half of the racing year.

The winner of Races 1-4 was awarded the Humphrey Bogart Trophy, the winner of Races 5-8 was awarded the Hugh Angelman Trophy and the winner of races 1-8 was awarded the Ocean Racing Series Trophy. With seven first-place wins, Wild Thing won all three trophies.

This year’s Ocean Racing Series will begin on Jan, 18, and registration is now open. For more information, visit bcyc.org.

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *