State/National/WorldNews Briefs

New York officials declare state of emergency along Lake Ontario

OLCOTT, N.Y. (AP)—New York officials have declared a state of emergency for the counties along Lake Ontario as water levels continue to rise.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo directed state agencies to assist local governments and residents in responding to potential flooding in the coming days and weeks. Rising lake waters caused extensive damage in 2017, and work crews are fortifying flood-prone areas with barriers to avoid a repeat.

A state of emergency has been declared in eight counties: Cayuga, Jefferson, Monroe, Niagara, Orleans, Oswego, St. Lawrence and Wayne.

State officials also are implementing a 5 mph speed limit for vessels operating within 1,000 feet of lake shore.

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *