Invited sailors announced to sail in Ficker Cup

World Sailing Grade 2 event is final tune-up to Congressional Cup.

LONG BEACH—Eight skippers and their respective crews will be competing for two invitations to the 2019 Congressional Cup, as Long Beach Yacht Club hosts the Ficker Cup off the Long Beach coast, March 29-31.

Long Beach YC has invited eight skippers to compete in this year’s Ficker Cup; the eight teams will compete against each other in Catalina 37s. Each boat will be provided with Mainsail, Genoa, Jib and Spinnaker sails. A crew of six, including skipper, will navigate each vessel.

Joachim Aschenbrener, Dave Hood, Charles Lalumiere, Chris Nesbitt, Chris Poole, Pearson Potts, Harry Price and Tom Spithill are the eight skippers invited to compete in the 2019 Ficker Cup.

The course, located near Belmont Memorial Pier, will be windward/leeward with starboard rounding. The finish will be downwind.

Whoever wins first place will earn a spot on the Ficker Cup (engraved name) and an invitation to the 2019 Congressional Cup, which takes place in Long Beach the following weekend. The second place winner will also earn an invitation to the 2019 Congressional Cup. Top three finishers will earn medals.

Dean Barker won last year’s Ficker Cup, finishing ahead of Johnie Berntsson and Chris Poole.

Ficker Cup is a qualifier for the Congressional Cup; Long Beach YC established it in honor of Bill Flicker, who won the 1970 America’s Cup as skipper of Intrepid. Ficker also won the Congressional Cup in 1974.

Contact event chair Cheri Busch at 310-533-3330 or for more information.

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *