Nominations now open for U.S. Sailing yachtsman, yachtswoman awards

Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year widely acknowledged as top sailing honor.

NEWPORT, Rhode Island — One of the most prestigious awards in sailing will be considering applications for its 2017 edition, as U.S. Sailing announced it is accepting nominations for the Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year.

The award recognizes the top individual sailors in the county. Each nominee is generally among the most outstanding sailors of the year and, according to U.S. Sailing, “demonstrated on-the-water excellence at international and/or national events to earn their place in the history of the sport.”

Last year’s winners – Caleb Paine of San Diego and Daniela Moroz from Lafayette, Calif. – were both first-time honorees.

Paine earned a bronze medal as a member of the U.S. sailing team at the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, while Moroz was last year’s IKA Formula Kite World Champion.

Other awardees included Ed Adams, Betsy Alison, Sally Barkow, Dave Curtis, Dennis Conner, JJ Fetter, Allison Jolly, John Kostecki, Buddy Melges, Lowell North, Jan O’Malley, Jane Pegel, Ken Read, Cory Sertl, Lynne Shore, Jody Starck, Anna Tunnicliffe and Ted Turner.

Nominations must be submitted by Nov. 30 at

Prominent sailing journalists from around the world will deliberate the candidates once the nomination period closes and submit secret ballots to determine the winner.

The male and female recipients of the award will be announced during a late-February luncheon at New York Yacht Club in Manhattan. Honorees are given specially engraved timepieces, according to U.S. Sailing.

U.S. Sailing has recognized the country’s top sailors since 1961. Rolex claimed naming rights of the award in 1980.

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *