Seal Beach to Dana Point Race celebrates golden jubilee

Regatta along Orange County coast returns for its 50th year, July 7.

ORANGE COUNTY — Dana Point Yacht Club and Seal Beach Yacht Club will co-host the annual Seal Beach to Dana Point Race for a 50th time this year, as the regatta along the Orange County coast is set for July 7.

Shawn Ivie won last year’s Seal Beach to Dana Point Race aboard Limitless, crossing the finish line with a corrected time of 4:43:27; Viggo Torbenson finished second aboard Timeshaver (4:51:38), followed by Guy Rosenlof (Lodgehall, 4:56:10), James Devling (Carbon Footprint, 5:00:59) and Seth Hall (Marisol, 5:03:49).

Last year’s race featured 37 boats competing against each other in the PHRF class. The ORCA class featured two boats – Trident and freestyle – competing against each other; Trident won the race with a corrected time of 6:26:18 (freestyle did not finish).

Details for this year’s golden jubilee race were not available as of press time. Last year’s race started near Seal Beach Pier and continued to an area close to the Dana Point jetty.

Contact Bob Hubbard, Seal Beach YC’s race chair, for more information. He can be reached at 562-498-9396 or

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *