DWYC Charity Regatta raises $25,000 for nonprofits

DANA POINT – Dana West Yacht Club had a good turnout for its 19th annual Charity Regatta, June 3-5, with several racers taking home wins after three days of racing.

Lack of wind and an east to west current led to changing the starting line to Mark L off Aliso Creek. Luckily winds picked up for the last two days of racing.

Race results: Cruise A Spinnaker: 1st: Tekeela, Jock and Lili McGraw, DWYC; 2nd: Schock Wave, David Zaveski and Don Skrdlant, DPYC; 3rd: Besame Mucho, Dan Hannegan, DWYC. Cruise B Non-Spinnaker: 1st: Autumn Moon, Rich Bennett, WSA-OC; 2nd: Fly ‘n Bry’n, Jerry Bryan, DPYC; Out of the Blue, Jeff Brown, LSFYC. Cruise C Non-Spinnaker: 1st: Coconut, Greg Ross, DWYC; 2nd: Sonsy, Brian Randal, DWYC; 3rd: Carib Wind, Sam Artinger, DWYC. PHRF A: 1st: Aimant De Fille, Steven Ernest, DWYC; 2nd:Gray Goose, Jeremy Quinton and Scott Lapp, DPYC; 3rd: Pole Dancer, Tom Manok, OYC. PHRF B: 1st: Shot, Jim Barnes, SBYC; 2nd: Hunu, Taylor and Van Pelt, LMVYC; 3rd: Sol Mate, Cynthia Wynne and John Hogan, DPYC.

Proceeds from the regatta – a total of $25,000 – will support City of Hope and the Dana West Youth Sailing Foundation.

Share This:


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *